Go to top of page

Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards

Photo: 2018 ACVPA award winners, AIC Director Mike Phelan, Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC, Assistant Minister of Home Affairs, and AIC Deputy Director Dr Rick Brown.


Nominations for the 2019 ACVPA are now closed. Winners will be announced at Parliament House on 26 November 2019.

The annual Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards (ACVPA) recognise and reward good practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia. The awards encourage public initiatives, and assist governments in identifying and developing practical projects which will reduce violence and other types of crime in the community.

Any government agency, not-for-profit organisation or individual person making a significant contribution to a project in Australia can be nominated for an award. Projects may address specific groups such as rural and remote communities, women, children, youth, family, migrant, ethnic or Indigenous communities, or specific problems such as alcohol-related violence.

On this page:



Who can enter?

Nominations are open to projects of all sizes, including smaller initiatives involving local community groups. The project must have been fully operational prior to 1 February 2018.

Anyone can nominate a project for the awards. It may be a project you are involved in, or a project that you believe deserves recognition.

The awards are designed to reward benchmark projects, as well as projects which exhibit good practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia.

How to nominate

Please read all information and documents available on this page, and return your completed nomination form as an email attachment to acvpa [at] aic.gov.au by 5.00 pm AEST Friday, 28 June 2019.

Your nomination must not exceed seven pages in length, with a minimum Arial font size of 11 point. Nominations should be produced in Microsoft Word, adhering to a strict limit of 1,500 words.

The selection process

Winners will be notified in November 2019 and recognised at a presentation at Parliament House, Canberra.
The final decision on the winners will be made by the ACVPA Board, which comprises appointees of each Australian state and territory police agency and is chaired by the Australian Institute of Criminology (AIC). The number of awards is at the discretion of the Board and will depend on the standard of nominations. Board members are:

  • Mr Michael Phelan APM (Chair, AIC Director and Australian Government representative)
  • Mr Andrew McIntosh (ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate)
  • Detective Chief Inspector Carlene Mahoney (NSW Police Force)
  • Superintendent Brett Prowse (NT Police)
  • Superintendent Peter Brewer (Qld Police Service)
  • Chief Inspector Alex Zimmermann (SA Police)
  • Senior Sergeant Tony Grincais (Tas Department of Police and Emergency Management)
  • Superintendent Wayne Newman APM (Vic Police)
  • Superintendent Kate Taylor (WA Police)

Please note:

  • Final eligibility is at the discretion of the selection board.
  • At the discretion of the Board, some successful projects may receive a cash award if eligible. Projects led by government departments or are substantially supported by government funds are not eligible to receive cash awards. Winners of cash awards may be required to supply supplementary information about their organisation; for example, office bearers, current funding and previous grants.
  • Monetary awards must be used to benefit the project that was nominated.
  • The AIC will use information from nominations to establish a database of effective projects which government and organisations can use for their programs. This database may also be used for future promotion.
  • If you do not receive confirmation of receipt of your nomination for the Awards, please contact the Secretariat on 02 6268 7450.
  • These awards are not project or operating grants. They are designed to reward good practice in the prevention of violence and other crime in Australia.
  • Previous ACVPA winners must demonstrate significant changes or progress to the original award-winning project to be eligible for future award nominations.
  • Previous unsuccessful nominees may reapply, but must demonstrate changes to the project that increase its effectiveness and have been in place for at least 12 months. See the ACVPA FAQs for more information about reapplying.

Judging criteria

The Board’s decisions are based on the following:

  • The quality of the evidence presented to support the nomination
  • The project’s capacity or potential to prevent or reduce crime
  • How project success is measured
  • The ability for the project to be adapted for other geographic locations
  • How sustainable project outcomes are
  • How innovative the project is
  • Whether the project raises community awareness of crime and violence.

There are separate categories for projects led by police organisations, and those led by community and other government organisations.

2018 winners

Last year twelve programs were recognised as winners. Read more about them here.

Contact us

Contact the ACVPA Secretariat on 02 6268 7450 or acvpa [at] aic.gov.au.

Last updated
14 November 2019