Australian Institute of Criminology

Skip to content

Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards

 ACVPA 25 years logo

photograph of 2015 award winners

Senior Constable Leanne Taylor, Senior Sergeant Joanne Howard, Senior Constable Helen Anderson, South Australia Police Home Assist Program, National Meritorious Police Award, 2014

The annual Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards (ACVPA) recognise and reward good practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia. The awards encourage public initiatives, and assist governments in identifying and developing practical projects which will reduce violence and other types of crime in the community. This year, the ACVPA celebrates its 25th year.

Any government agency, not-for-profit organisation or individual person making a significant contribution to a project in Australia can be nominated for an award. Projects may address specific groups such as rural and remote communities, women, children, youth, family, migrant, ethnic or Indigenous communities, or specific problems such as alcohol-related violence.

Last year, awards of up to $10,000 supported two projects from around Australia. The ACVPA committee is again calling for nominations for 2016.

Nominations for the 2016 ACVPA are now open. For more information, and to submit your nomination, please click here