The Criminology Research Advisory Council

The Criminology Research Act 1971 provides for a Criminology Research Advisory Council that advises the Director of the AIC on strategic research priorities for the AIC, communications and the effective dissemination of crime and criminal justice information and makes recommendations as to the grants to be made by the Director each year under the Criminology Research Grants program.

The Advisory Council consists of nine members who represent the Australian Government and all states and territories. This composition ensures that areas targeted for research funding reflect both national and state/territory priorities.

The Australian Government representative is appointed by the Attorney-General; state and territory representatives are appointed by the Attorney-General of each state or territory. The Council meets at least three times a year.

Members of the Advisory Council as at 19 March 2024:

  • Victoria
    Ms Fiona Dowsley, Executive Director, Evidence and Insights, Chief Statistician, Crime Statistics Agency, Victoria (Chair)
  • South Australia
    Mr Adam Kilvert, Executive Director, Policy and Community, Attorney General's Department, South Australia (Deputy Chair)
  • Queensland
    Ms Kate Connors, Deputy Director-General, Justice Services, Department of Justice and Attorney-General, Queensland
  • Australian Capital Territory
    Mr Richard Glenn, Director-General, Justice and Community Safety Directorate, ACT
  • Australian Government
    Ms Susan McKeag, Assistant Secretary, Attorney-General Department
  • Northern Territory
    Ms Gemma Lake, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Department of the Attorney-General and Justice, Northern Territory
  • New South Wales
    Mr Paul McKnight, A/g Deputy Secretary, Law Reform and Legal Services, Department of Justice, New South Wales
  • Tasmania
    Ms Ginna Webster, Secretary, Department of Justice, Tasmania
  • Western Australia
    (Vacant), Department of Justice, Western Australia