Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards

ACVPA 2023 award winners

2023 ACVPA award winners


Nominations for the 2024 ACVPA are now closed

The annual Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Awards (ACVPA) recognise and reward programs that reduce crime and violence in Australia. The awards encourage public initiatives, and assist governments in identifying and developing practical projects which will reduce violence and other types of crime in the community.

Any government agency, not-for-profit organisation or individual person making a significant contribution to a project in Australia can be nominated for an award. Projects may address specific groups such as rural and remote communities, women, children, youth, family, migrant, ethnic or Indigenous communities, or specific problems such as alcohol-related violence.

Who can enter?

Nominations are open to projects of all sizes, including smaller initiatives involving local community groups. The project must have been fully operational prior to 1 February 2023.

Anyone can nominate a project for the awards. It may be a project you are involved in, or a project that you believe deserves recognition.

The awards are designed to reward benchmark projects, as well as projects which exhibit good practice in the prevention or reduction of violence and other types of crime in Australia.

How to nominate

Please read all information available on this page, and submit your completed nomination form online by 5 pm AEST Friday 3 May 2024.

The selection process

Winners will be announced in November 2024 and recognised at a ceremony at Parliament House in Canberra.

The final decision on the winners will be made by the ACVPA Board, which comprises appointees of the relevant Australian, state and territory police agencies. The number of awards is at the discretion of the Board and will depend on the standard of nominations. Board members are:

  • Ms Heather Cook (Chair), Director, Australian Institute of Criminology
  • Mr Andrew McIntosh, Australian Capital Territory Government
  • Superintendent Chris Nicholson, New South Wales Police Force
  • Superintendent Sonia Kennon, Northern Territory Police
  • A/Superintendent Robert Fleischer, Queensland Police Service
  • Chief Inspector Melissa Gilchrist, South Australia Police
  • Senior Sergeant John King, Tasmania Police
  • Superintendent Mark Langhorn, Victoria Police
  • Superintendent Sharon Bird, Western Australia Police Force

Please note:

  1. Final eligibility is at the discretion of the selection board.
  2. Winners of cash awards may be required to supply supplementary information about their organisation; for example, office bearers, current funding and previous grants.
  3. Monetary awards must be used to benefit the project that was nominated.
  4. The Australian Institute of Criminology will use information from nominations to establish a database of effective projects which government and organisations can use for their programs. This database may also be used for future promotion.
  5. If you do not receive confirmation of receipt of your nomination for the awards, please contact the Secretariat on 02 6268 7450 or 0406 109 885.
  6. These awards are not project or operating grants. They are designed to reward good practice in the prevention of violence and other crime in Australia.
  7. Previous Australian Crime and Violence Prevention Award winners must demonstrate significant changes or progress to the original award-winning project to be eligible for future award nominations.

Judging criteria

The Board’s decisions are based on:

  • the quality of the evidence presented to support the nomination
  • the project’s capacity or potential to prevent or reduce crime
  • how project success is measured
  • the ability for the project to be adapted for other geographic locations
  • how sustainable project outcomes are
  • how innovative the project is
  • whether the project raises community awareness of crime and violence.

Previous winners

Contact us

Contact the ACVPA Secretariat on 02 6268 7450 or